Huntington Disease Lighthouse Families

For HD families ... by HD families

Please help me understand choosing not to test...

Posted by bh910123 
Please help me understand choosing not to test...
June 01, 2012 05:37PM
My son is recently (just days) engaged to a 28 year old woman (8 years older than him) who is at risk for HD. Her mother died from it, her mother's mother died from it and her mother's only 2 sibblings have it. I am just learning about the disease, it's symptoms, the risk factor, etc... And I must say I am an emotional wreck!! My future daughter-in-law already has 2 very young children by a previous marriage and she and my son plan to have at least one together. She is totally opposed to genetic testing and my son supports her decision. I am new to this forum and in no way want to offend anyone, but I just cannot help but feel that chosing not to test and also chosing to have children is irresponsible and cruel!! How could you have children knowing the great risk you are passing along for them to not only endure this disease themslves, but to have to lose their mother at a young age? After reading as much as I possibly could get my hands on over the past couple of days, I sincerely would not be surprised if tested that my future daughter-in-law would be positive for HD. There are just too many of the early signs and symptoms that before ever knowing anything about the desease have caught my attention as "odd" about her. I pray that she is HD negative, but am just worried sick that if she is positive the impact this is going to have on my son and any future children they may have. I look forward to hearing feed back from any of your directly affected by HD. Your pros and cons for testing, etc... I know that ultimately this is a very personal decision and one only my future daughter-in-law can make. It is her life. But ultimately her decision to have children will effect our whole family should she have it and leave her children motherless at a young ag