Huntington Disease Lighthouse Families

For HD families ... by HD families

dealing with HD

dealing with HD
March 20, 2011 01:47PM
Hello,
I'm new to the blog world but am taking a step to help cope with my husbands HD. He got tested to confirm his/our suspiscions about two years ago. We keep the topic quiet mostly but as i see him every day restless, stumbling, it becomes harder and harder for me to deal with and was wondering if anyone could give some advice how to handle things and how to not look so glumly upon our future. We have 3 beautiful girls, and I'm terrified for them. I've read a few blogs about embarassment, etc and at times i do feel a little of this and don't know really how to handle all of these conflicting emotions i have for my husband and my family. Any tips are helpful.
Thanks
Re: dealing with HD
March 20, 2011 02:05PM
We 'r' Tips, here. Welcome to the forum. I think if ya stick around things come into perspective better and better. You are just a person. One who will feel about everything there is to feel with HD around. That's normal... and ok. Even being a little embarrassed publicly from time to time. That won't last long. But it's ok while it does. After a while you won't sweat the small stuff as much. And learn to be self forgiving too. HD is nothing anyone likes.... it takes time to cope with the dislikes of it but you will. Just remember HD isn't your fault. Nor can you make it all better for you, him, or everyone else all the time. Again that's ok.... you will get better understanding your role. Sometimes you will have responsibilities and sometimes you will have rights... and once you get those sorted to your satisfaction things settle down a bit. Keep reading... asking .... and participating with your take on stuff. You will be surprised how much you know that you didn't know you knew. grinning smiley
March 20, 2011 04:52PM
Welcome to the forum smiling smiley
March 21, 2011 12:44PM
Welcome!Welcome
March 22, 2011 11:25AM