Huntington Disease Lighthouse Families

For HD families ... by HD families

care giver

Posted by roal 
care giver
March 14, 2014 04:57PM
To all the caregivers of loved ones trying to get through each day with some kind of normalcy as I have been a cargiver for my wife for the last 20 years...my does time fly. She is approaching the mid to late stages of the disease and we have gone through many trying times and as the care giver you have to realize its the disease. Looking to here from others to share this ride of anxiety and sometimes depression.
Re: care giver
March 18, 2014 12:42AM
care giver...you are something to be doing this for 20 years, I think I have been doing it for about 10 years but only diagnosed 3 years ago.

My HD hubby is a pill, angry ALL THE TIME, hard to get along with and now his sons are moving to the area and are causing trouble.

The don't want to know or learn about HD they just want to visit with dad, the only problem with that is dad tells stories so far fetched that the

kids believe him, now they are talking him into kicking me out so they can care for him. He won't talk to me because I won't let the kids into

my home unless they straighten up and learn about how to treat an HD person. I wish people on this forum told what really happens to the

HD person, things the care giver really goes through so we can learn from them. I know not all are the same but they are similar.

God Bless you Sir.
March 18, 2014 04:57PM
Marlyssa.

Have you obtained any of the literature from HDSA on HD facts and how to deal with them. The information is out there and if you can't make them go get the info, get it for them. I wish for you that they could understand the toll this is taking on you, and that you need their support, not their criticism. The only way they will understand is if they learn.

Is there an HDSA social worker in your area.

Can you lead them to the forum, or put them in touch with an HD support group.