Huntington Disease Lighthouse Families

For HD families ... by HD families

Being a spouse or partner

Posted by jessyoga 
Being a spouse or partner
March 19, 2013 01:29PM
How do others cope when their spouse or partner is of the age their parent developed HD and you'd really like to know, but you know you need to honor his or her desire not to test? I feel such panic when I see him fidgetting, tripping, etc. But then I tell myself he's doing well at work, in a high pressure job, and takes good care of himself, etc. He insists he'll know if he has the symptoms and he'll know when and if he has to test. But I don't know how true this is? He's 48 1/2 and he is eligible to retire at his job at 50. He says he just wants to make it to retirement eligibility first. We are praying for this. Also, I'm a yoga teacher, SAHM and I've decided to begin updating my skills and looking for PT work as a way to keep my skills current in case I need to go back to work sooner rather than later. But I'd love to hear from other spouses/partners. Thanks.
Re: Being a spouse or partner
March 19, 2013 08:31PM
I think testing for some, with a family history, would be much harder than those without a family history. I'm not sure but from the retirement scenario it sounds as if he's a federal employee. If he can stick it out that's great. It was very difficult for me to leave work. You work so hard to have a good work ethic and suddenly something unseen takes this away. It is a lot of pressure on the pHD. We wonder all the time about retirement and the when's and how's. HD takes that freedom away.

Best of luck to you and your family,

Mike
March 26, 2013 07:42AM
Hi,