Huntington Disease Lighthouse Families

For HD families ... by HD families

weaning antidepressants in advance stage HD

Posted by walgan 
weaning antidepressants in advance stage HD
December 19, 2012 09:54PM
My son is 24 with JHD since age 10. He is now in advanced stage. He no longer expresses depression or suicidal ideation. He has stopped self-injurious behavior (burning) .He is on cymbalta, remeron, and tetrabenazine. Is there a point in advanced HD when antidepressants can be weaned off? Can I discern over- medicating/sedation from advancing disease? Thanks for your guidance.
Re: weaning antidepressants in advance stage HD
December 20, 2012 10:58AM
Why do you want to take him off the anti depressants? I'm not a doctor but I would think he is no longer showing self-injurious behavior or suicidal thoughts or depression because his med's are working. My husband slept pretty much all of the time when he had end stage HD. It's hard to tell whether it's the medicine or the disease, probably a little bit of both. But I believed then and I still do that the medicines he took made the disease more tolerable for him. He continued to take every one of his medicines right up to the day he died.
December 20, 2012 12:06PM
I agree with Marg, I would not take him off his meds as long as they weren't causing any intolerable side effects.

Carla
December 20, 2012 08:40PM
I don't want to oversedate him. I wonder if the flat affect, difficulty processing communication, slow initiation of speech, and unpredictable sleep/wake cycles are disease or medications. Would he participate more in daily life if he wasn't in a medication haze? I was interested in finding out if anyone had decreased the medication as the disease progressed. Thank you for your thoughts.
December 20, 2012 10:32PM