Huntington Disease Lighthouse Families

For HD families ... by HD families

Help - Advice

Posted by frankwilli83 
Help - Advice
December 05, 2012 02:44PM
Hi Everyone.

This is my first time posting. My name is Frank and I am 29. My mother is 51 and has been dealing with the effects of HD since 2002. She had 10 years of pychiatric and cognitive problems before she just started having movements this summer. I am writing because I wonder if anyone has had any experience with their loved one going to jail and being prosecuted. My mother does not have a record. She is not a criminal and never did 'bad' things but since the movements have started she has had two incidents of setting fires at her assisted living residences. 6 weeks ago she set her second fire and they decided to press charges this time. The doctor at the local hospital refused to blue paper my mother so after spending two days at a walk-in mental health center they took her to jail. I understand that she committed a crime and that something has to be done, but I don't see her sitting in jail as a reasonable thing. I can't pay for a lawyer for her and she has a young court appointed attorney with less then a year of law experience and definitley no mental health experience that I am aware of. I just feel like they are going to try her like she is normal (I hate to use this word), I mean it's like they don't recognize that she has HD and how impaired she really is. They just see her 15 mins at a time and they don't know any different, she presents well like most HD patients do. She has sat in jail for 6 weeks now with no pysch eval! I just wish their was some kind of advocate that dealt with lawyers for support on such cases, does anyone know of any service like this? I just don't like her lawyer either, he still hasn't contacted me even though my mother said she told him to and he has told her that his advice is to not speak to anyone about the case, including myself. I wish I was still her guardian so i h