Huntington Disease Lighthouse Families

For HD families ... by HD families

Feeling overwhelmed

Posted by Terilynn 
Feeling overwhelmed
November 19, 2012 01:47AM
Heiio, this is my first time posting a comment. We've known about HD in my husband's family for 17years. His brother is 61 and is in the last stages. It's been beyond sad to watch this wonderful man die slowly. His wife is his caretaker and she has yet to seek any help. He should be in a nursing home but she refuses to do this. 2 years ago my husband tested positive with a cag of 40. Now our 3 children are at risk. My husband has 2 other siblings who were born with mental disabilities. I feel this family has been cursed with health problems. It was hard growing up in a family with handicapped siblings and then HD was added to the picture. I have a faith but I feel like God has turned his back on this family. How do I handle all of this.?Some days I just want to run away.
Re: Feeling overwhelmed
November 19, 2012 07:11AM
this is a very supportive place. People don't always agree here but you can get good info and a lot of hugs and prayers. People here have been through just about everything this disease can do. Just hold on and know that you are not alone.
November 19, 2012 12:08PM
Welcome Terilynn,
I go back and forth with God...so I get where you're coming from.
Stick around, there are lots of good folks on the same journey you are on, lots of love and support here.

Take care,

Carla
November 19, 2012 12:44PM
Maybe it will help to remind yourself that bad things happen to good people all the time for no reason. There are so many people in the world that odds are some of us are going to end up in a family full of medical problems. Sometimes that thought helps me...There's no one to blame for things like disease...that helps me cope when I get scared or depressed. It keeps me from feeling angry or resentful.