Huntington Disease Lighthouse Families

For HD families ... by HD families

nursing home & communication suggestions

Posted by bella 
nursing home & communication suggestions
September 08, 2012 10:58PM
I just rejoined the forum after many years because I need your help..My mom is one of many in our family with HD. I've been caring for her the past 20 years. We made the extremely difficult decision to place her in a NH about 10 years ago. Since then, she has moved several times as the HD progressed and I relocated. She is now 61, and over the past year her condition has deteriorated. She has extreme difficulty communicating, swallowing and without TBZ severe chorea. She is and has been on a combo of meds. The NH where she has been for the past several years has asked me to find alternative placement due to what they describe as her "yelling and crying inconsolably." According to them they can't meet her needs because they can't figure out what she needs. Every NH I've talked to has a waiting list, won't accept people under 65, no medicaid beds or refuses to accept her because "they can't meet her needs." I'm sooo frustrated!! The NH she's in has new administration and DON (again) and their response to her yelling and crying has been to send her to the ER (she had a UTI), require a pysch eval and push med changes, and when she returned to the home put her to bed or keep her isolated from other residents. I figured out on my most recent visit that she has been yelling to communicate that she is in pain due to dental issues! According to the home the behavior (which I have never seen) has been going on for several months and getting progressively worse. I have a care plan meeting with the home this week and will try again to educate them on HD, my mom and how to communicate with her and to remembr that she's not just a HD patient she's a person!