Huntington Disease Lighthouse Families

For HD families ... by HD families

Cag repeats .

Posted by char81 
Cag repeats .
September 20, 2011 01:50PM
Hi i am new to all of this have just come on for info and if anyone knows about cag repeats , most people seem to of been given a number, my partner has only recently had blood test what came back as 42 - 46 repeats just wondered if any one else had this . not sure why its between instead of exact any clues would be appreaciated. thanks char81
Re: Cag repeats .
September 20, 2011 05:43PM
My bf has HD and I am trying to learn more about it. I too was confused about the CAG repeats. I looked it up and found this

[hdbuzz.net]

I hope this helps a little

Hollie
September 20, 2011 06:41PM
I've never heard of a range being given. There are 2 genes, and sometimes both numbers are given, like 17 & 43. I've also heard of one person with two high genes (from 2 affected parents), but I don't think that's what you're saying.

I hope someone else has a good answer!
September 20, 2011 07:15PM
I believe that they are factoring in a margin for error.

Here's something else to read about CAG repeats:

[www.hdlf.org]
September 21, 2011 01:15PM
Thanks for the links everyone, I think your right Marsha they are just leaving a margin for error. I live in the UK and HD is not as well known or should i say we dont seem to be on the ball with raising awareness and getting information out there so am researching things myself. So any info people provide is a bonus. Thanks
Char.
September 21, 2011 02:54PM
Hey Char81 & hbrooks. Welcome to the forum.

Pete & Laura
September 22, 2011 04:38PM