Huntington Disease Lighthouse Families

For HD families ... by HD families

Is This Useful?

Is This Useful?
July 27, 2011 04:33PM
Hello All!
I am a 4th year doctoral student at a graduate school in Boston, MA.

I am writing my dissertation on how caregivers of spouses diagnosed with Huntington's Disease cope during the presymptomatic stage of the disease. My goal is to give a voice to a population (i.e. caregivers) that are often overlooked, taken for granted, and/or ignored.

I was wondering what people thought of this dissertation topic and advice you might have for me.

THANKS!!

~Karen
Re: Is This Useful?
July 27, 2011 10:26PM
Welcome karen im new here too .But defenitly not new to HD Was caregiver for him for at least 15 years now in care home .Not sure what dissertation is all about .Homework in summer yuk.Why did you choose Huntingtons?
July 28, 2011 09:08AM
@thehays....

My dissertation is the last thing I need to do in order to graduate from the doctoral program I am in. I chose Huntington's Disease because it captured the essence of what I wanted to study: caregivers waiting for their spouse/loved one to develop symptoms and eventually pass away. How do people cope while waiting for those symptoms to begin? That is what I am trying to study.
July 28, 2011 10:10AM
This is Marsha posting on Steve's computer.

Of course it is not easy to have your spouse receive a positive diagnosis and then wait for symptoms to start. Nor is it easy to cope with end stage HD, to make sure the person's needs are met, and have to say good bye. But the hardest period is after symptoms start