Huntington Disease Lighthouse Families

For HD families ... by HD families

can no longer take care of my 9 year old daughersad smileyadvice plz

Posted by RACHEL 
can no longer take care of my 9 year old daughersad smileyadvice plz
November 16, 2010 01:17AM
hello my name is rachel and i am new to the message board. i have read alot of posts and i am extremly thankfull that there is a place where ppl like us can get support..i find it really hard to find suport because hd is a rare disease with little awarness and the loss of the ability to communicate makes it impossible sometimes to explain.smiling smiley
I am 30 years old , i was diagnosed at the age of 20 but had symptoms earlier and have a CAG of 49.my mother was diagnosed at the age of 18 and passed eight years ago. My sister who is now 35 also was diagnosed at 20 and had lived with me for the past seven years untill she entered the nursing home. I had many family member who had hd and JHD.
I have a daughter who is 9 yrs old and married her father when i was pregant. i was diagnosed when my daughter was a baby and after going through coucelling with her father for a year he left two mths after my diagnosis. He has never been part of my daughters life and i have had no little support my mom's family mostly passed away fr hd or didnt care and my dad is still a drug addict and has never been a part of my life so i have no family..as for my daughter's fathers family..her grandparents have been my only support and love my daughter very much but dont seem to want to discuss my hd.