Huntington Disease Lighthouse Families

For HD families ... by HD families

Got diagnosed today..a little confused

Posted by durran3 
Got diagnosed today..a little confused
May 04, 2010 04:52PM
Hey Guys,

This is my first time posting this and I am confused as what to do next. I got diagnosed with HD today 43 CAG repeats. I was planning to do my Masters but that is now out of the question as i don't see or know what i am going to do in terms of my Career anymore. Even Marriage is now out of the question because i know what families with HD have to go through and i have no intentions of putting anyone in the same shoes as what Mom went through for over 25 years who has been dealing with my dad and my grandmother both of whom had HD at fairly young ages.

I haven't told my mom yet, do you think its a good idea? I don't feel like telling her because she will be devastated. I did tell my brother who himself is at risk of HD but hasn't been tested for it.... Where does this leave me at this point.. i don't' want to be in a vegetative state because i believe that if your going to loose your free will than your pretty much dead.
Re: Got diagnosed today..a little confused
May 04, 2010 05:25PM
Sorry to hear about your diagnosis. Here are my first thoughts.

1: Don't make any decisions for the next year. Let the diagnosis sink in and give yourself time to recover.

2: Assume that you're going to be depressed for the next year. I was told by a doctor that after the diagnosis that 90% of his cases suffered medium to severe depression for at least a year. Make sure you are facing that possibility and be proactive about it.

3: You'll want to put yourself in a job situation that is as high paying as possible, with the maximum insurance coverage you can afford. I'm not sure that discontinuing your education is a good thing. That might be the depression talking to you.