Huntington Disease Lighthouse Families

For HD families ... by HD families

Steps To Remove Spouse From Mortgage

Posted by JeffreyB 
Steps To Remove Spouse From Mortgage
March 03, 2010 09:55AM
Sorry if this has been discussed before. My wife is an HD patient and is very close to needing full time care. Is there some info somewhere that will walk me through the procedure for getting her name off of our mortgage and the process of getting the state to cover her care? I'm hoping that I don't have to refinance my home. I may not qualify due to having co-signed for my twin daughters' student loans. Can you take your spouse off of a mortgage without a refi?? I'd hate to think that just because I helped my daughters get into college that I'll lose my house over it.

Please don't think I sound uncaring and selfish. I've been caring for her for 3 years now. She had symptoms for the last 5-6 years but I think we were in denial. We are way to familiar with this hidious disease. She's lost her mother and two sisters as well as having one remaining sister in late stages. I'm dealing with caring for her the best I can, but I am now in need of a direction for the financial aspects of her long term care. She's just become eligible for Medicare, but I'm not sure if she should sign up for it. She's on my employer's health plan, so does she need Medicare right now? That's and extra $100/mo that we don't have especially if she is covered by my company's plan. Or should I drop her from my plan and save $275/mo and put her on Medicare? Or keep her on both?? Sorry for all of the questions.

Thanks for any info,

Jeff

Edited 3 time(s). Last edit at 03/03/2010 10:17AM by JeffreyB.
Re: Steps To Remove Spouse From Mortgage
March 03, 2010 10:21AM
Hi Jeff,