Huntington Disease Lighthouse Families

For HD families ... by HD families

New to the forum

Posted by medmo 
New to the forum
August 18, 2009 06:53PM
I am new to the HDAC forum and new to finding friends in cyberspace in general, so I guess that makes my age evident.

My Dad developed HD when I was a teenager and died 14 years ago. I was tested 13 years ago, and given a gift of 14 and 18 CAG repeats. I hear of people in my situation feeling guilt but I feel only gratitude and a deep sense of responsibility to my family and other HD families. Since testing, I have retrained myself to work with HD patients, and know more than ever what a novice I am. If nothing else, HD has taught me humility.

As a health care professional, I have had many occasions to talk to my colleagues about HD, my family, and my risk. I have experienced a range of reactions, from blank apathy to naive opinion to arrogant scorn to compassion and competence. I only count the compassionate and competent responses, and learn to recognize the others.

I hear from my HD families that they have experienced some helpful and some harmful reactions too.

So I would like to know what you would like to see in your health care providers. Not just what you want changed, but mostly what you appreciate and find helpful. It can be really simple things, like being on time or offering chocolate milk in the waiting room, or more complex things, like helping you talk with your at-risk children or contemplate your last days. Feel free to be creative.

I hope and pray for a cure or treatment, but all I can do today is invest in the present. I believe that there are many things that can make life valuable now for HD patients and the people who love them...medications, better preparations, open communication, connection to spirituality, being part of a community of people who care, to name a few.

But what do you think?
Re: New to the forum
August 19, 2009 06:44AM
Welcome.
db
August 19, 2009 08:33AM