Huntington Disease Lighthouse Families

For HD families ... by HD families

Relaxation of Chorea

Posted by hoping4acure 
Relaxation of Chorea
October 06, 2008 09:04PM
Hello and greetings again.

My husband has just been diagnosed, though is symptomatic and increasingly bothered by his chorea. At his most recent visit to the neuro, his chorea was not too bad, so he is not yet on medications for that. He does not want to be overly sedated, but in his words it feels "like he has no control over his body tonight".

I am an occupational therapist, but have only worked with HD once before in my career. These are some techniques I have used with other neurological patients with motor control and tone problems. Can anyone let me know if these have been tried or work with you.

Diaphragmatic chorea: He is being increasingly plagued with constant burping (rate every 2-3 seconds at times) which is worst in the evening. He is now telling me that this is causing him to reflux his supper. Tonight, I tried getting him to do some deep controlled breathing, figuring that voluntary contraction and relaxation of the diaphragm would overcome the chorea. It seemed to work during the technique, but did not have lingering effect. (also, he is not really the type to "buy in" to relaxive breathing) If anyone out there knows of another technique which has been helpful,please send along..

Chorea of the extremities: Neutral warmth has been shown to relax tone and motor control in neurologically impaired patients. Basically this is a fancy schmancy name for throw a big blanket around him. It is the same concept of why therapeutic pools are heated to 96 degrees. The muscles enter a natural relaxation state when warmed. It is getting cold here in Massachusetts, so I have him wrapped in a blanket and lend him my UGG slippers.