Huntington Disease Lighthouse Families

For HD families ... by HD families

Please allow me to introduce myself...

Posted by hoping4acure 
Please allow me to introduce myself...
October 03, 2008 08:16AM
Hello all.

I've been lurking and reading for a few weeks now. It is very comforting to find such a supportive group with a great variety of experiences and opinions....even some heated debate. Thank you already for supporting me in this new experience.

My husband was just diagnosed with HD in September. He just turned 40, has CAG 43, and is in stage 3. The diagnosis completely blindsided us because he was adopted, so we had no idea of his genetic risk. We've been married for 7 years, we have 2 children, ages 6 and 5.

He is a CPA, but has been unable to land a job for about 16 months. He has qualified for disability SSDI. I am an occupational therapist, and have worked in brain injury in the past. I sometimes kick myself for not recognizing the symptoms sooner,I thought he was just moody and mean.

We are doing everything we can to make contacts and educate ourselves as much as we can. I am fortunate to be in the Boston area, so there is a COE, many support groups and a strong HDSA affiliate.

Thank you for letting me introduce myself. I'll look forward to further discussion and debate in the future.

Patty
Re: Please allow me to introduce myself...
October 03, 2008 08:22AM
Hello and Welcome Patty
October 03, 2008 08:25AM
Patty,

Welcome. I am so sorry for your husband's recent diagnosis.

It is very fortunate that you are near a COE and you will find many knowledgeable individuals here to support you and your family on this journey.

again, welcome.
db
October 03, 2008 09:14AM