Huntington Disease Lighthouse Families

For HD families ... by HD families

Neotine Question

Posted by JLS 
JLS
Neotine Question
November 01, 2007 01:19PM
Hi. I have a question about Neotine. First, is there anybody out there that uses it? I'm confused about this product. Is Neotine the same product that will be used in the Phase III HD-02 trial with Avicena? I've been waiting for that trial to start, but I just heard it won't be until 2008. In the mean time I guess I could go ahead and buy Neotine. I just wondered if it's the same product that will be used in the Clinical Trial.

Thank you to anyone who can provide input.
Re: Neotine Question
November 01, 2007 01:27PM
Yes, it is the same product.
November 01, 2007 01:28PM
JLS,

I've been using it for about 6 months - 10g in the morning and 10g in the evening. It's advertised as "medical grade" creatine, but I don't think it's the same as HD-02.

Will
November 01, 2007 01:30PM
I won't argue with Marsha. :-)

Will
db
November 01, 2007 03:42PM
So how have you been feeling since you have been on that product , Will ? db
November 02, 2007 09:05AM
db,

I've been on creatine at 10g a day since I tested positive 4 or 5 years ago. I switched to Neotine from TwinLab about 6 months ago and increased the dose to 20g daily, split between morning and night. That was based on the Phase 2 study of HD-02.

I've not had any side effects. Since I'm asymptomatic I can't tell if it's having an effect. Something is. Neotine is highly micronized and dissolves well. I have noticed that I don't seem as thirsty with it compared to other creatine.

It is pretty expensive at the 20g level. I wrote Avicena an e-mail suggesting volume discounts but didn't hear back from them.

Will
November 02, 2007 09:52AM