Huntington Disease Lighthouse Families

For HD families ... by HD families

Genealogy Research

Posted by CAdreamer 
Genealogy Research
June 29, 2007 06:44PM
Hi Group,

This is my first time posting. I'm 39 years old, and my Mother died July 10th 2006 from Huntington's Disease. She was 59, with a CAG repeat of 43.

Our family had no idea that Huntington's disease was in the family until last year. Now my sister and I, as well as her two kids are at-risk. Also, after tracking down my uncle through the police department, I found him in a nursing home at age 57.

I was wondering if any of you have traced the disease back to Europe. My research has led me to a small town in the Ticino area of Switzerland. I understand that it was not uncommon for families to live in this remote area for as many as 12 generations. The area is near the Italian border and was often isolated by harsh winters.

I suspect the gene was brought to Northern California by a 16 year old Italian speaking girl traveling to the US alone in 1890. She would have been my GG-grandmother...

Anybody else gene hunting in the family tree?

CAdreamer
Re: Genealogy Research
June 29, 2007 08:48PM
CAdreamer,

There are many of us trying to trace HD families through genealogy. It is difficult, as HD was/is often mis- or un- diagnosed, making it hard to determine exactly which family member suffered from HD. Some family members died at an early age from other causes which may have been related to HD. Or not.

Rootsweb has an HD mailing list: [lists.rootsweb.com]
June 29, 2007 10:57PM
I've been trying to trace the HD gene in my husbands family through geneology too. I've sent for a few death certificates but none of them show HD as cause of death. It's difficult because none of his mothers family is alive and the last of his fathers family died recently. His only living sibling tested CAG 34 barely "dodging the bullet" his sister had died from cancer before he became symptomatic.

Marg