Huntington Disease Lighthouse Families

For HD families ... by HD families

Most widly used medication for HD?

Posted by Tim 
Tim
Most widly used medication for HD?
March 21, 2001 11:03AM
Hi everyone.
I am a first time visitor to this message board. My name is Tim Matheny. I am a college theatre professor and one of our students has written a wonderful and tragic play about the effects of HD on a southern family and their community. The play has been received extremely well and has been selected to perform at the Kennedy Center in Washington DC and has been invited to an English speaking festival in Europe. Seeing the effects of this play on those who have been personally touched by this disease has prompted me to learn as much as I can about the disease.

I have one question to pose to the group. What are the most widely used medications for HD patients?

PS ? If anyone is near the DC area on April 23 & 24 and would like more information on tickets to our show feel free to e-mail me at timmatheny*at*email.com
Dear Tim,

Thank you for exploring the psychological and emotional aspects that are so obtrusive to pHDs and their families and friends. I am a former teacher but was forced into early retirement three years ago. It is not easy for anyone.

We live about an hour from Washington, DC and would love to see your students perform. Would love to have four tickets. I have a husband and three beautiful daughters, two at risk and one adopted from Korea,

I would think the most widly used medication for HD would be anti depressants. You probably know sueside is high with HD. It the chemicals in the brain are not being produced it results in bizarre behaviors and unstable emotions. Antidepressents help me retain my own mental health as well as help my family cope.

A muscle relaxant my also be taken, usually a very small dose to help a pHD relax and sleep at night.

Hugs,
Ardie
Marsha
RE: Most widly used medication for HD?
March 22, 2001 07:58AM