Huntington Disease Lighthouse Families

For HD families ... by HD families

OTA Student asking questionsI'm new here

Posted by cjbrannon61 
OTA Student asking questionsI'm new here
April 08, 2014 10:53PM
Hello Im an Occupation Therapy Assistant Student in Farmington, NM and I am having to do a report on Huntington's Disease. Part of my project requires me to participate in a diagnosis-related online support group or message board such as this one and discuss the difficulties and adaptations of this horrible disease with persons living with the illness, or the caregivers of said persons. I have been reading as much as I can on HD but I need to hear a first hand account to get an idea of what persons with, or you guys, go through. I know I can never truely grasp the effect this has on individuals and their families without experiencing first hand, but as the closest organization to me in over 4 hours away, I would love to hear it from you all. Please write back to me if you have any insight to the daily difficulties (ANY) and Adaptations you have experienced with HD.
Sincerely,
Chanelle Reynolds
OTA Student at San Juan College
tcreyn@gmail.com
Re: OTA Student asking questionsI'm new here
April 09, 2014 12:39AM
You wrote a very nice post, and introduced yourself very nicely to us, better than some students for sure. I for one appreciate that, but I'm trying to figure out, occupational therapy has to do with a persons job, and there is no therapy for hd in relation to jobs. There is no rehabilitation to help someone with dementia keep their job, as compared to someone with a physical disability, for instance, someone in a wheelchair, how to make their job easier and more accessible for them, so I wonder if you can explain why you were asked to study hd in this regard, it just doesn't make sense to me at all
April 09, 2014 12:46AM
Occupational therapy