Huntington Disease Lighthouse Families

For HD families ... by HD families

Mom passed away...sad smiley

Posted by dgennaro1433 
Mom passed away...sad smiley
April 05, 2014 09:20AM
Hi everyone!

I haven't posted in a long time... But I just wanted to vent!

My mom was diagnosed in 2009 and recently lost her fight with Huntingtons and while I am sad that she is no longer here on earth with me, I am relieved that her suffering is done. No more medications with unwanted side effects. No more living life in a body that has let her down and didn't allow her to do the things she loved to do. No more angry outbursts.

She ended up succumbing to a bowel obstruction/strangulated bowel that the doctors were hesitant to operate on because of her repetitive movements. Being a nurse, I was confused at first because this was something that could be FIXED! But the family made the choice to bring her home on hospice and let her go... Because she has suffered enough.

Anyway, I miss her so much my heart hurts. The only thing that eases my pain is knowing she is in heaven dancing with my daddy. I know I will see her again... It's the in between that's the scarey part. Life without her just doesn't seem right.

The sad part is that her brother is also suffering from Huntingtons and is about 2 years behind her in age. It was hard for him to watch her this week as she passed away... He saw his future and it scared him.

Thanks for listening to me... I have been reading your posts over the years since my mothers diagnosis and have learned a lot! I even learned about new meds that her neurologist didn't even know about (xenazine)... A drug that did wonders for her repetitive movements! Anyway, thank you for all of the support... It has helped to know that I wasn't alone in this struggle as her daughter and caregiver.

Diana
VRE
Re: Mom passed away...sad smiley
April 05, 2014 10:43AM