Huntington Disease Lighthouse Families

For HD families ... by HD families

milk

Posted by PaulaH 
milk
January 17, 2007 02:36PM
I thought I read somewhere on here milk was not good for someone with HD. Does anyone have any information on this? He really doesnt care for milk anyway, but he likes ice cream and other milk products. Right now I am just learning, so if anyone has information, please let me know.

Paula
Re: milk
January 17, 2007 03:10PM
There really isn't a credible recommendation against milk. Years ago when HD research was in its infancy and no one knew about CAG repeats, scientists were trying to figure out why there was such a vast difference in age of onset. Families were given long questionnaires to fill out about their loved one's health habits. People who drank milk tended to have earlier onset.

Was that a real finding? No reason to think so. The gold standard for statistical significance is that there has to be a less than one in twenty chance that your findings aren't a statistical coincidence but 'real.' Okay, let's say I gave everyone here who has HD a questionnaire and also asked them age of onset. Let's say I ask them forty questions like, "What is your favorite color" and "How many letters are in your first name," things that are absolutely irrelevent to age of onset. Two of them out of the 40 questions would be statistically significant but still mean nothing.
January 17, 2007 07:03PM
Marsha,

Thank you for this information. I will put the question about milk to rest, unless other studies indicate something else.

Paula
January 29, 2007 11:43PM
Paula
When our family first started symptoms, we were told that the only reason for the milk problem, was because it caused mucous, and strangulation. otherwise it was ok.
January 30, 2007 05:44AM
Hi Paula