Huntington Disease Lighthouse Families

For HD families ... by HD families

Newbie here! Lots of anxiety and nervousness...

Posted by farrisml 
Newbie here! Lots of anxiety and nervousness...
August 04, 2015 10:19AM
Hello all- I am so excited that I found this forum! My Dad is finally being tested for HD. He had his blood drawn last week so we are anxiously awaiting results.

My Dad's family history is a little crazy because he did not have much contact with his Dad after he left at 18. My Dad's father was a very abusive, unpleasant man whom I nor my siblings never met. He was diagnosed with dementia and died in a nursing home about 15-20 years ago. My Dad is one of 4 children. My Dad's sister started having weird symptoms and after explaining how their father acted, her Doctor decided to test her for HD which came up positive with a CAG of 46. My aunt had many other problems including morbid obesity and diabetes so she died about 10 years after being diagnosed with HD. My Dad's brother was the next to be tested after he started constantly getting into little fender benders, getting into trouble at work for poor hygeine and starting to have some of the movements associated with HD. He tested positive. (unsure of his CAG) My Dad's youngest sister has not been tested.

I am really glad that my Dad is finally being tested because I think he has had symptoms for a long time but both of my parents were in denial until very recently when my Dad started having some issues at his job. He keeps getting into little fender benders and having mood issues at work and has now twice been accused of being drunk on the job. (I have never seen him drink) He also has lost alot of weight and for sure have the movements of someone with HD.