Huntington Disease Lighthouse Families

For HD families ... by HD families

Cybalta and HD

Posted by caring4hd 
Cybalta and HD
June 12, 2015 04:54PM
Hi all -

So one of the basic rules I have found in Forums, is search first. I did a search for Cymbalta and got one hit.

Today has been a crazy day with my SO. She has been so tired and fatigued for a couple weeks now. I have been going back and forth with the neurologist for days now and finally got her to accept taking an anti depressant. He has prescribed Cymbalta. The one post that came back on my search was positive, but it works differently in all.

I would like to hear of any other experiences with Cymbalta.

This is what our morning looked like this morning.

To the Neurologist this morning:

Just wanting to pass along that this morning we had the first of what I begin as many more to come EMOTIONAL outbursts.

She got up, tried to start getting ready, she had an emotional outburst at the frustration of her body being tired and the ongoing fatigue we are fighting.

She become very agitated, anxious and angry at the "tired all the time" as well as the fatigue threw herself to the floor and then kicked around and then got up and threw herself on the bed telling me to cancel the housekeeper that is coming and saying she is going to stay in bed for the 5th day in the row...

She just told me she is nauseous - cancel the housekeeper. Don't cancel the housekeeper. Cancel the housekeeper. Don't cancel the housekeeper. She seems to be in a state of panic. This just could just be the duration of the fatigue and constant tired, and her claims she is not sleeping despite my observation of a night of a full night of sleep; but sleep does not mean rest (in HD) as I have read in the forums.

She is very agitated that we have not gotten the anti depressant into our arsenal of medications. And even more agitated that it seems no doctor (her words) is giving her the attention that she needs.